The Hold Steady’s Craig Finn has announced his first solo album since 2020’s All These Perfect Crosses. The new record, A Legacy of Rentals, arrives May 20 (via Positive Jams/Thirty Tigers). The lead single is “Messing With the Settings,” and you can find that, along with an album trailer, below.

Finn recorded A Legacy of Rentals with producer Josh Kaufman and engineer D. James Goodwin in May 2021. “Memory is a major theme through A Legacy of Rentals,” Finn explained in a statement, “and I wanted the first song on the record to open on that note. This song is literally a eulogy. It’s delivered by someone who has lost touch with the recently deceased but still finds them important.”

He added, “The title A Legacy of Rentals acknowledges that we can never completely hold any of our possessions and that our bodies are merely a temporary residence for our souls. All moments are fleeting.”

Last year, the Hold Steady shared Open Door Policy. Read about the band in “The 200 Most Important Artists of Pitchfork’s First 25 Years.”

All products featured on Pitchfork are independently selected by our editors. However, when you buy something through our retail links, we may earn an affiliate commission.

Craig Finn: A Legacy of Rentals

A Legacy of Rentals:

01 Messing With the Settings
02 The Amarillo Kid
03 Birthdays
04 The Year We Fell Behind
05 Due to Depart
06 Curtis & Shepard
07 Never Any Horses
08 Jessamine
09 A Break From the Barrage
10 This Is What It Looks Like


This content can also be viewed on the site it originates from.


This content can also be viewed on the site it originates from.


Source link

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.